1x24v or 2x12v battery’s and other related q’s

Covering Transmitters/ receivers, wiring schematics, requests for new options, etc
Paul Sparkes
Has liked: 77 times
Been liked: 209 times

1x24v or 2x12v battery’s and other related q’s

Post by Paul Sparkes »

I’ve been using 2x12v lead acid arm batteries in my previous tanks. I have 24v which I then use a 24 to12v converter to change power back to 12v for electrical systems that need 12v.

On the Jagdtiger I’m thinking about using a single 24v 36ah Lifepo4 to save space and weight and to give good run time (important).
Is the 24 to 12v converter a good idea or should I think about 2x12v batteries and take the 12v directly from one battery? I ask as I’m not sure the converters give good power output to the car audio amplifiers I’ll probably use.
This is the sort of unit I use https://www.digikey.co.uk/en/products/ ... RgQAvD_BwE

If a 24v Lifepo4 is the way to go can someone recommend a good supplier and charger, I’m new to the Lifepo4 but have been around electronics for many years.
Jagdtiger 2020 number 40. With Gun Smoke, CO2 recoil and Driving on custom Brushless motors.
Leopard “ The Bear” build with a difference. Big power for good reason.
222 scout car
See my YouTube for video's https://www.youtube.com/@TheMinimivic/featured

florian rudolf
Has liked: 286 times
Been liked: 637 times

Re: 1x24v or 2x12v battery’s and other related q’s

Post by florian rudolf »

I using this LiFePo04 - Headway as kit to create your own battery.
https://www.i-tecc.de/shop/lifepo4-batt ... ausatz-8s/
For charge you can use any 8S multicherger like this.
https://www.voelkner.de/index.php?mp=pr ... 0Gru%20Sho

Cheers
Florian

Adrian Harris
Has liked: 1296 times
Been liked: 1511 times

Post by Adrian Harris »

If you look back through the forum, the discussion about batteries has been ongoing for years.

SLA and LiFePO4 each have their pros and cons and there are vocal advocates for both.