Batteries for a newby

Forum for discussion relating to the Chietain MBT
John chamney
Has liked: 5 times
Been liked: 1 time

Batteries for a newby

Post by John chamney »

Hi all ,
I know this subject has been covered before but could someone please point me in the right direction . I am a complete newby to these tanks and would appreciate if someone with there vast experience could let me know which is the easiest battery to get along with that will do the job . There is a lot of technical detail in other posts but unfortunately it all goes over my head , can someone please tell me which one is best suited , thanks in advance .

John

jwwirds
Has liked: 74 times
Been liked: 26 times

Re: Batteries for a newby

Post by jwwirds »

This is a question for me as well. On the forum people said they used a LiFePO4 battery, so I got one of these in 24 V with the appropriate charger. In the manual for the Sherman Easy Eight however it is stated it is better not to use Lithium metal batteries because the motors generate a regenerative current. So what should be done?
Building Sherman Easy Eight
Leopard 2A4 ordered

simon_manning
Been liked: 1574 times

Post by simon_manning »

x 2 12 volt Golf Buggy Batteries, e-bay £70 the pair Delivered, simple, easy Maintenance, i am not a keen driver and this suites me, as newbies don't get involved with complicated electrical set-ups, i also charge my Batteries separately one at a time with a Normal 12 volt charger. regards simon manning.

Adrian Harris
Has liked: 1181 times
Been liked: 1378 times

Post by Adrian Harris »

I think the reason for that warning may be that lead-acid batteries are a tried and tested system and just work, or not. If a customer has a problem, it's very easy to diagnose if the batteries are at fault.