Newbie Questions

All topics related to Armortek's 25 Pdr
Richard Trilling

Newbie Questions

Post by Richard Trilling »

I'm a newbie to metal kits and I'm having some standard beginners problems. Thought I'd ask a bunch of newbie questions on the "Limber". My feeling is these questions would apply to other kits and the answers to these questions might help me and others.

I live in an apartment, my only access to tools is essentially a Dremel with its attachments and a rivet-snap, perhaps an airbrush to use on my balcony, if that would become necessary.

What I would like to be able to do is end up with a finished kit, an all silver metal kit (bare?), with the copper rivets showing copper.

Some of my problem steps are:

1. Degrease everything
How about the steel parts (box base 405, tray 425,...)? The slightest drop of water makes them rust.

2. Polishing
Small parts (white metal such as wheel rims)
I've polished them with the wire wheel of the Dremel. Is this the best way?
Steel parts
What's the best way to get the rust off of the steel parts (box base 405, tray 425,...); to then polish them and prevent the rust from coming back.
Larger parts
Such as the side, top plates & doors, not at all sure what to do in order to polish them.

or doesn't one try and polish them (steel & larger parts). If not should I spray some sort of substance on them?

3. Rivets
Some of the rivets need to be cut down in order to fit into the holes of the door plates,... What is the best way to do this, with a cutting blade or a grinding attachment on the Dremel?

Any help would be appreciated.

Adrian Harris
Has liked: 1182 times
Been liked: 1378 times

Re: Newbie Questions

Post by Adrian Harris »

As the owner of probably the shiniest Tiger in the world, I would have to say I do like the look of a bare-metal model.

http://www.armortek.co.uk/Forum3b/viewt ... 48&p=32834